SEMC 2016 hailed a great success

13 Oct 2016 - 09:45

The Sixth International Conference on Structural Engineering, Mechanics and Computation (SEMC 2016) was successfully hosted by the University of Cape Town from 5 to 7 September 2016. According to conference founder and chair, Prof. Alphose Zingoni of the EBE Department of Civil Engineering, “The SEMC conferences, held every 3 years since 2001, aim at bringing together from around the world academics, researchers and practitioners in the fields of structural engineering, computational mechanics and related disciplines, to review recent achievements in the advancement of knowledge and understanding in these areas, share the latest developments, and address the challenges that the present and the future pose”.

Prof. Alphose Zingoni (Conference Chair) delivering an overview of SEMC 2016 at the Opening Ceremony. Photo Angus Rule.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Prof. Danie Visser welcomed the 400-strong international audience at the Opening Ceremony on 5 September. This included authors, exhibitors, sponsors and invited guests. A highlight was the presentation of SEMC 2016 Young Researcher Awards for the best 3 papers by principal authors under the age of 35 (as scored by a panel of 12 international experts). The recipients were Ms Laura Marimon Giovannetti (University of Southampton, UK), Mr. Matthias Labusch (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany), and Mr. Ou Zhao (Imperial College London, UK). The ceremony also saw the presentation of Elsevier’s K.J. Bathe Award for the best paper published in Computers & Structures in the period 2014 and 2015 by an author below the age of 40. This went to Dr. Marcos Valdebenito of Santa Maria University (Chile).

Over 350 papers were presented in 57 sessions of the Conference, with authors representing some 60 countries from all five continents. Keynote speakers were Prof. Kim Rasmussen (University of Sydney, Australia), Prof. Adnan Ibrahimbegovic (Universite Technologie Compiegne, France), Prof. Klaus-Jürgen Bathe (MIT, USA), Prof. Amr Elnashai (Pennsylvania State University, USA), Prof. Jian-Fei Chen (Queen’s University of Belfast, UK) and Prof. Guido De Roeck (KU Leuven, Belgium). The SEMC 2016 Proceedings comprise 360 peer-reviewed papers. These have been published by CRC Press (Taylor & Francis Group) as a printed book of short versions of the papers (784 pages), and a CD-ROM with the full papers (2,200 pages).

Some of the Keynote Speakers pictured at the Conference Dinner: Standing: Prof. Guido De Roeck, Prof. Adnan Ibrahimbegovic (Keynote Speakers), Prof. Barry Topping (Elsevier CAS Editor) and Prof. Klaus-Jürgen Bathe (Keynote Speaker); Seated: Prof. Alphose Zingoni (Conference Chair), Mrs Lydia Zingoni, Ms Cavall Barends and Dr. Vera Vanhoucke. Photo Angus Rule.